Ironman 70.3 Oceanside - Bergere and Jewett Win

Ironman 70.3 Oceanside - Bergere and Jewett Win

The Men

As Ironman 70.3 Oceanside approached, all the attention was on Jan Frodeno's return to racing. Still, Leo Bergere, the reigning World Triathlon champion, should have received more recognition, especially since Frodeno eventually dropped out. Bergere ultimately won the race, but Jason West of the US showed he is one of the sport's top runners, finishing just 10 seconds behind.

Bergere dominated the swim portion, leading the way in the chilly water and opening up a 30-second lead on the rest of the field. Ben Kanute and other fast cyclists caught up to him during the bike portion, with Long leading the way into T2. Once on the run course, Bergere quickly took the lead, leaving Long behind and increasing the gap through the first 13 km. West started the run well behind but eventually reached second place by the 14 km mark, with Laundry close behind. West continued to close the gap on Bergere and came within nine seconds with less than a mile to go, but Bergere held on to win in 3:45:25. West finished second in 3:45:37, with Laundry in third at 3:47:38. Kanute and Goodwin rounded out the top five. Bergere showed his ability to close out a race and secured the victory.

The Women

Tamara Jewett, the Canadian triathlete known for her remarkable speed in the run leg, claimed victory in the Ironman 70.3 Oceanside, the most significant win of her career. Jewett had previously struggled to catch up to the leading triathletes before the run, but this time she managed to surge past them and win the race. Among the top athletes she passed was Holly Lawrence, the 2016 Ironman 70.3 World Champion, who led the chase group after swimming 1:28 ahead of the others in the chilly 56-degree water.

Jewett's speed on the run was unmatched, with her 1:13 split covering 13.1 miles at a pace of 5:34 per mile or 3:28 per km. She finished the race in 4:08:09, with Chelsea Sodaro, the reigning Ironman world champion, coming in second place with an impressive 1:15:21 run split and a total time of 4:09:31. The podium was completed by Taylor Matthews, who made a strong comeback after a car crash disrupted her 2022 season, finishing in 4:12:27. Lawrence finished fourth with a time of 4:16:32. Paula Findlay rounded out the top five in 4:21:52.

Back to blog